The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

Each child is encouraged to learn and develop their own abilities through play, with the support they need from the First Step’s team.

The seven areas of learning we focus on are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Communication and development.
  • Physical development.
  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the world.
  • Expressive art and design.

If parents want more information on the EYFS please go to: